Women Who Write: Erin Healy

Welcome to week six of the eight week blog series: Women Who Write. I hope you find this author showcase entertaining and enlightening as we dive into the world of female Christian authors. This series focuses on women who write Christian fiction, their books, and their perspective of the industry.

This showcase features the author of one of my favorite books- Never Let You Go. I may have had a fan-girl moment when she agreed to take part in this series, so please join me in thanking her for stopping by!

Gone are the days when women had to hide behind the veil of a male pen name. Though many authors still use pen names today, I think we can all agree we are thankful that women have the freedom to express their art…as women! Being a writer myself, I have to say I am overjoyed at the opportunity to talk with these authors and share their stories with you. So, let’s celebrate the women in fiction who followed their predecessors and continue to pave the way for the rest of us!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Author Erin Healy

erinhealy_2-med

 

Erin Healy is the bestselling co-author of Burn and Kiss (with Ted Dekker) and an award-winning fiction editor for numerous bestselling authors. Erin is the owner of WordWright Editorial Services, a consulting firm specializing in fiction book development, and she is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and the Academy of Christian Editors. Her novels include such thrilling stories as Motherless, The Baker’s Wife, and Stranger Things. She lives with her family in Colorado.

 

How did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I don’t recall a moment of knowing so much as an awareness that writing was what I liked to do, wanted to do. My family and teachers often praised my efforts, so I had encouragement to do it as well. Pursuing a career in editing is what opened doors for me to be published.

What are your goals with your writing? What do you hope to accomplish?

I hope to write stories that cause readers to say, “Interesting—I’ve never thought of that before.” And I hope that these thoughts are the kind that inspire us to be more compassionate, more humble, more hopeful people.

What are the biggest challenges you face as a female Christian author?

I can’t say I’ve experienced any uniquely female issues. As for being an author who is a Christian, the biggest challenge is clear: grappling with questions about matters of faith or doctrine (what better place to do that than in storytelling?) isn’t always welcomed by the Christian marketplace. In my experience, typical Christian readers don’t want to explore mystery; they’d rather affirm certainty. So it can be difficult to give questions a voice or leave the answers open-ended.

Can you tell us a bit about one of your books?
ehmotherless

 

My personal favorite is a novel titled Motherless, which explores one family’s experiences with deceit, self-deceit, and what happens to people when they discover they’ve built their lives on beliefs that are not true. For me such awakenings—personal, relational, spiritual or otherwise—can be disorienting and upsetting but also hopeful, even redemptive. So those are words I use to describe this novel.

Motherless is the haunting tale of two young adults who are trying to solve the seventeen-year-old mystery of their mother’s suicide

 

What can readers look forward to seeing from you in the future?

I wish I could be specific! I have several novel ideas in simmering on my mental stove, none of them near ready to serve up yet. It might be a few more years, but the stories in me will eventually find their way out.

 

To learn more, follow Erin on Facebook or visit her website!

***

Click here to visit last week’s showcase with Melissa Wardwell!

GIVEAWAY!

Enter every week for your chance to win a $25.00 Amazon Gift card!

The winner will be announced and notified via email at the end of the 8 week Women Who Write series, don’t forget to come back next Wednesday for another Christian Author showcase!

giveawaypic

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Women Who Write: Erin Healy

Leave a Reply

