Women Who Write: Melissa Wardwell

Welcome to week five of the eight week blog series: Women Who Write. I hope you find this author showcase entertaining and enlightening as we dive into the world of female Christian authors. This series focuses on women who write Christian fiction, their books, and their perspective of the industry.

Gone are the days when women had to hide behind the veil of a male pen name. Though many authors still use pen names today, I think we can all agree we are thankful that women have the freedom to express their art…as women! Being a writer myself, I have to say I am overjoyed at the opportunity to talk with these authors and share their stories with you. So, let’s celebrate the women in fiction who followed their predecessors and continue to pave the way for the rest of us!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Author Melissa Wardwell

mwardwell-6

 

Melissa resides in a small mid-Michigan farm community with her husband and three children, all of whom they home school. Besides writing, she enjoys reading, taking photos, and motorcycle rides with her husband.  Her hope is that each story touches your heart, gives you hope, or just gives you a moment away from the chaos of life.

 

 

How did you know you wanted to be a writer?

Can I say I never wanted to write? LOL. At least not for public viewing. It is more of a call than me just deciding one day to download Word to my computer and write a story. I had visions of a story play out on the dash of my car every time I had to go somewhere. When I told a friend about it, she insisted that I write the story God was showing me. It nagged at me for months before I finally sat down and did something about it. This birthed my first novel “What God Brings Together”. Lesson 1 in “When God says do something, you better do it”.

 

What are your goals with your writing? What do you hope to accomplish?

I want my stories to minister to someone who feels broken down and need hope. Someone who needs to see a real-life approach to seeing the hand of God in their lives. Sometimes these concepts are not well received, and that is okay. I hope to also give a respite to those who just need a bit of a getaway. That is why I wrote “Finding Hope in Savannah”. It is a different location and it is a beautiful place.

What are the biggest challenges you face as a female Christian author?

The biggest challenges come from those who have preconceived ideas about what should be in CF and don’t like what is being written by up and coming authors. My stories aren’t all cozy and heartwarming. They have real world issues that face a believer today. Sins, a troubled past, the need to be forgiven even though it may be unforgivable – all are issues I approach.

Can you tell us a bit about one of your books?

Dance and Be Glad was released June 2016. It is my forth book and second in the Promises from Above series.

dance-and-be-glad_kindle

Jillian was content being a single mother and Michael was happy with bachelorhood but when they reconnect again after being apart for more than a decade, they learn to trust each other and God through tragedy and life changes. The only question is if they can trust their independent hearts as affections begin to blossom and see that love is not just a onetime deal.

 

 

Excerpt form Dance and Be Glad

(Jill is in a church service for the first time in many years.)

“When you hold a grudge, against one person or many, are you trusting God? When you make a move or make a decision without praying about it first, are you trusting the One who knows more about you than you know about yourself? How can we say that we trust God when we jump ahead of His plan for our lives? It could be a choice you made a week ago or decades ago. Either way, you didn’t trust Him to care enough about you to provide all that you needed and a bit of what you want from time to time.”

She heard him say a few more things, but they were jumbled words as they rolled around in her head. They made her think.

She thought she had been doing so well with her life on her own, well, their own. In reality, she had taken the reins of her life from the One who gave her life.

Different situations from her past flashed before her eyes like a movie reel on the back of the pew. She was such a trusting girl when she was younger, but somewhere along the line things changed.

When, God? When did I try to take over?

A teenage couple sneaking around to see each other. A lonely young woman standing at the altar looking into the face of a man she liked but knew things weren’t right. Opening a dance studio. And lastly, the most hurtful, choosing to leave a church in bitterness. She had done all of these things, and many others, without praying first and trusting God to take care of her. Not everything was bad, but she still hadn’t trusted Him to provide. And ever since Doug’s death, she had pretty much told God that she could handle it.

She bowed her head, closed eyes, and a lone tear escaped and landed in her hand.

Oh, God, I am so sorry. Forgive me for not trusting you with my life.

A soft feminine hand reached for hers. Before she could look to see who it was, the person spoke tenderly in her ear.

“He has never left you or forsaken you, so rejoice with dancing and He will turn your mourning into gladness and bring happiness out of your grief. Just trust Him.”

What can readers look forward to seeing from you in the future?

I am part of a novellet box set coming out at the end of April. That will be published through CelebrateLit Publishing. For those who have read Finding Hope in Savannah, you will want to read this story I have in there. You will see some familiar faces as I return to savannah.
I also hope to publish a wedding novella in July that is based on the couple from Dance and Be Glad and in November, I hope to release the third book in my Promises from Above Series called I Know the Plans. I have two series that intertwine with each other. So, while you read the wedding novella, I will be finishing up I Know the Plans. You will see a piece of the wedding in the novel. (I hope that makes sense -LOL)

 

To learn more, follow Melissa on

Facebook, Twitter, or visit her website!

***

Click here to visit last week’s showcase with Lisa Prysock!

GIVEAWAY!

Enter every week for your chance to win a $25.00 Amazon Gift card!

The winner will be announced and notified via email at the end of the 8 week Women Who Write series, don’t forget to come back next Wednesday for another Christian Author showcase!

giveawaypic

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Women Who Write: Melissa Wardwell

Leave a Reply

