Women Who Write: Laura Frantz

Welcome to week three of the Eight Week Blog Series: Women Who Write. I hope you find this author showcase entertaining and enlightening as we dive into the world of female Christian authors. This series focuses on women who write Christian fiction, their books, and their perspective of the industry.

Gone are the days when women had to hide behind the veil of a male pen name. Though many authors still use pen names today, I think we can all agree we are thankful that women have the freedom to express their art…as women! Being a writer myself, I have to say I am overjoyed at the opportunity to talk with these authors and share their stories with you. So, let’s celebrate the women in fiction who followed their predecessors and continue to pave the way for the rest of us!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Author Laura Frantz

laura-frantz

Award-winning author Laura Frantz is passionate about all things historical, particularly the 18th-century, and writes her manuscripts in longhand first. Her stories often incorporate Scottish themes that reflect her family heritage. She is a direct descendant of George Hume, Wedderburn Castle, Berwickshire, Scotland, who was exiled to the American colonies for his role in the Jacobite Rebellion of 1715, settled in Virginia, and is credited with teaching George Washington surveying in the years 1748-1750. Frantz lives and writes in a log cabin in the heart of Kentucky.

According to Publishers Weekly, “Frantz has done her historical homework.” With her signature attention to historical detail and emotional depth, she is represented by Janet Kobobel Grant, Literary Agent & Founder, Books & Such Literary Agency of Santa Rosa, California.

Readers can find Laura Frantz at www.laurafrantz.net

 

How did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I was one of those 7 year olds who said she wanted to be a writer without really understanding what that meant. All I knew was that I loved reading and anything having to do with words was like heavenly magic to me.

What are your goals with your writing? What do you hope to accomplish?

Lately I’ve had some friends pass and have given some thought to obituaries. What will be said about me once I move to my real heavenly home? I’m thrilled that I can be called a Christian novelist, among other things, the foremost being a mom and wife. Personally, the highest writing accomplishment is to have been a book missionary, sharing Christ’s hope and love wherever my stories happen to land. Knowing that something I’ve written touches people on a spiritual level just amazes and inspires me to do my very best for Christ.

What are the biggest challenges you face as a female Christian author?

Being taken seriously as a writer of Christian historical romance. I’m involved in some literary circles where genre writers are not looked upon very highly. Many don’t understand that much of inspirational fiction today is quite well done, and often of higher quality than what is generally found in the ABA. The CBA has grown enormously in the past decade. I’m thrilled to be a part of that!

Can you tell us a bit about one of your books?

My latest release, A Moonbow Night, is my most historical novel to date. Romance readers, beware ;). I do include several sweet scenes and promise a happy ever after ending. This book is especially dear to me because it has to do with my hero, Daniel Boone, and my beloved state, Kentucky. My heroine, Tempe, is caught up in the midst of some very turbulent history relating to a little remembered incident in the life of the Boone clan. I set the story in one of my favorite locations, the romantic, very picturesque Cumberland Falls region where the moonbow appears. So hope readers enjoy the story as much as I enjoyed writing it!

What can readers look forward to seeing from you in the future?

I’m deep into edits on a story set in Colonial Williamsburg ca. 1775. Spy theme. Handsome Welsh hero. A heroine by the name of Liberty. Historical fireworks! Releases January 2018.

Take a look at Laura’s book, A Moonbow Night.

lfrantzbookAfter fleeing Virginia, Temperance Tucker and her family established an inn along the Shawnee River. It’s a welcome way station for settlers and frontiersmen traveling through the wild Cumberland region of Kentucke–men like Sion Morgan, a Virginia surveyor who arrives at the inn with his crew looking for an experienced guide. When his guide appears, Sion balks. He certainly didn’t expect a woman. But it is not long before he must admit that Tempe’s skill in the wilderness rivals his own. Still, the tenuous tie they are forming is put to the test as they encounter danger after danger and must rely on each other.

With her signature sweeping style and ability to bring the distant past to vivid life, Laura Frantz beckons readers to join her in a land of Indian ambushes, conflicting loyalties, and a tentative love that meanders like a cool mountain stream.

Click here to find A Moonbow Night on Amazon.

To learn more about Laura, you can visit her on

Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, or her website!

***

Click here to visit last week’s showcase with Author Angela Ruth Strong!

GIVEAWAY!

Enter every week for your chance to win a $25.00 Amazon Gift card!

The winner will be announced and notified via email at the end of the 8 week Women Who Write series, don’t forget to come back next Wednesday for another Christian Author showcase!

giveawaypic

a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 thoughts on “Women Who Write: Laura Frantz

  1. Mary Kay says:

    Andy, Thanks for this. Love Laura’s stories & it’s nice to share that interest with others who appreciate a good story. I’ll be reading your series to learn about other authors. Nice to meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

