Women Who Write: Dana Pratola

Welcome to week one of the Eight Week Blog Series: Women Who Write. I hope you find this author showcase entertaining and enlightening as we dive into the world of female Christian authors. This series focuses on women who write Christian fiction, their books, and their perspective of the industry.

Gone are the days when women had to hide behind the veil of a male pen name. Though many authors still use pen names today, I think we can all agree we are thankful that women have the freedom to express their art…as women! Being a writer myself, I have to say I am overjoyed at the opportunity to talk with these authors and share their stories with you. So, let’s celebrate the women in fiction who followed their predecessors and continue to pave the way for the rest of us!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Author Dana Pratola

dana-pratola-week-one

Dana is the author of the Descended series among other titles. When given the chance to describe herself to readers, she says:

“God has blessed me with a wonderful husband and three dynamic children, all of whom are destined to make wide, colorful splashes in this world. We share our New Jersey home with three dogs. I have no hobbies to speak of, unless you include writing. I don’t. ”

I asked Dana a few questions, to gain some insight into her perspective on being a female Christian author.

 

How did you know you wanted to be a writer?

It was never a question for me if I wanted to or not, I just “was.” I LOVED to read and wrote my own stories when I was a kid. When I wasn’t writing, I was imagining. I was probably a nutty kid, but the only ones I have to ask are family, and they lie 😉

What are the biggest challenges you face as a female Christian author?

I don’t know if being female has as much to do with it as my writing romance. Men seem to be afraid of romance novels, so I don’t get many readers from the Y pool 😀  The challenge comes when sincere Christians tell me I shouldn’t write this or that because it’s not in the Bible. Let me say, I try to be really thorough when it comes to knowing what is and isn’t Biblical, and I won’t change anything the Bible has to say. I think the trouble comes in when I write something the Bible doesn’t speak on, specifically, this group of men in my Descended series, who have superhuman abilities. The concept is foreign to some minds, and therefore couldn’t possibly be Christian. First, I’ll remind them IT’S FICTION, FOLKS. Secondly, the Bible doesn’t speak on some things, so I feel free to create characters that have superpowers.

What are your goals with your writing? What do you hope to accomplish?

What I hope to do at this point is pull readers in who aren’t necessarily Christian, by giving them something other than the typical sugary sweet stories the Christian genre has offered in the past. Those types of stories are great, but generally geared toward older women who’ve spent most of their lives in church. Which, let me say, IS WONDERFUL. But I don’t want to write just for believers. I want to reach non-believers by giving them thought-provoking stories that also entertain.  I don’t write the sweet, goody-goody characters our parents would have read, and while some avid Christian readers might close one of my books a few pages in when they read about the rescue of child sex-workers, the overwhelming response has been positive.

Can you tell us a bit about one of your books?

A good example would be Descended~JETT, the first in the series. Jett has some interesting powers and hates God, when the story begins. He holds Him responsible for some terrible things that happened in his childhood, but because of those things, he’s dedicated his life to rescuing kids and young adults trapped in sex-trafficking and abuse. Sometimes he kills, and frankly, he enjoys it. Enter Haven. She is a Christian and can’t understand his contempt for God, but in getting to know who Jett is inside, she falls in love with him just as he is, and his heart is softened by her love. He still kills, lol, but… I don’t want to give too much away 😀

What can readers look forward to seeing from you in the future?

I just released the final book of the series, ULRICK, and am working on several novels, one of which focuses on homosexuality. I can expect to be fired at from both sides of the line, but I’ll deal with that when I get there, lol.

Dana’s book, Descended: JETT, is free for a limited time! You can download it here.

descended

To learn more about Dana, follow her on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads!

You can also visit her website to check out all the books she has available!

Click here to check out next weeks featured author, Angela Ruth Strong.

GIVEAWAY!

Enter every week for your chance to win a $25.00 Amazon Gift card!

The winner will be announced and notified via email at the end of the 8 week Women Who Write series, don’t forget to come back next Wednesday for another Christian Author showcase!

giveawaypic

a Rafflecopter giveaway

9 thoughts on “Women Who Write: Dana Pratola

Leave a Reply

